Song 3: Paul McCartney & Wings, Fiona Apple; “Let Me Roll It” (1973, 2012)

paulmccartney_botr-1_lindamccartney-36fb6f93731026377d827a7b060eebed14ebb860-s6-c10

I had a dream the other night about Fiona Apple singing “Let Me Roll It” by Paul McCartney. I can’t give myself many points for creativity—she actually sang the song on Late Night With Jimmy Fallon a while back—but I should get credit for keeping things fresh. My dreams tend to feature:

A)   something I hadn’t prepared for, such as a play for which I hadn’t memorized lines (curtain in 10 minutes!);
B)    a faulty alarm clock (followed by waking up in a panic five hours before my alarm goes off);
C)    terrorists, guns, hostages and/or apocalypse; or
D)   all of the above (oversleeping, perhaps, for the end times, an event for which I had not done any homework whatsoever).

In other words, I welcome the randomness of this dream with open arms. I don’t remember much about the dream’s “plot” (New Year’s resolution: finally start that Fiona Apple dream journal), but I do remember that Apple shaved her head and was worried about performing the song. I reassured her, then she went on stage and killed it.

Why did I dream about this song six months after seeing Apple sing it on TV? No idea. But it’s amazing how a cover can bring out a song’s strengths; in this case, it’s that weirdly fierce guitar line in the verse, followed by the release of the simple, pretty chorus (set into motion by the only-Paul-McCartney-can-get-away-with-it “My heart is like a wheel”) sung with an otherworldly reverb effect. Apple, of course, gives it her all, making the title more of a desperate plea than McCartney’s gentle offer. Her performance is amazing and cathartic, and the fact that the Roots know exactly what to do is unsurprising but heartening.

I guess I know why I dreamed about this after all.

2 Comments on “Song 3: Paul McCartney & Wings, Fiona Apple; “Let Me Roll It” (1973, 2012)”

  1. Great cover by a great artist. It sounds like an eventful dream.
    –Jw

  2. Shena Boltz says:

    Excellent site. Lots of useful information here. Im sending it to several friends ans also sharing in delicious. And of course, thanks for your effort!


Leave a Reply

