Song 15: Thao with the Get Down Stay Down, “Bag of Hammers” (2008)

thao2

This song!

One of the joys of writing an mp3 blog and being a freelance music writer is that I get the damndest things in the mail. Sometimes they’re from major labels (recently, I’ve inexplicably been receiving entries in the NOW! That’s What I Call Music series), sometimes they’re from indie rock labels, and sometimes they’re from bands who burn a CD-R and send it to everybody they know. I almost never know what to expect, which is all part of the fun.

I got Thao’s record We Brave Bee Stings and All in the mail in 2008, and though I knew that the Kill Rock Stars label doesn’t release anything bad, I didn’t know what I was going to hear. This song came on and I immediately loved it. The energy, the melody, the lyrics, Thao Nguyen’s voice. It’s just so good. The whole record is pretty damn great, as is her follow-up, Know Better Learn Faster. She’s got a new one coming out soon called We The Common, and I can’t wait to hear it.

Also: “As sharp as I sting, as sharp as I sing”? Why didn’t I think of that?

Leave a Reply

