Song 68: Robyn, “Call Your Girlfriend” (2011)

Robyn-Call-Your-Girlfriend-Kaskade-Dub

I find this song really funny. I have no idea if that was the intention, but the idea of a somebody telling the other person exactly how to dump their significant other, in order to be with them instead, is just really humorous to me. Or maybe I’m not getting enough sleep these days.

It seems like “Dancing On My Own” was the big hit from Robyn’s Body Talk record, and while I love that song, I vastly prefer “Call Your Girlfriend.” There’s just something so anthemic and victorious about the melody, as if Robyn’s already won, and now it’s just a matter of tying up loose ends: now if you’ll just get rid of that extra person, we can be on our way.

I hadn’t seen this video before, and it’s kind of amazing. As far as I can tell, it’s all one take, which is very impressive when you consider the sheer amount of running around that Robyn is doing. She’d make a great babysitter for a toddler.

One Comment on “Song 68: Robyn, “Call Your Girlfriend” (2011)”


Leave a Reply

