Song 78: Justin Timberlake, “Damn Girl” (2006)

Justin+timberlake+damn+girl+cover+by+justcdcover.blogspot.com

The arrival of Justin Timberlake’s new album has me listening to the superb FutureSex/LoveSounds again, for the first time in ages. “Sexyback” was obviously the big single (with the awesome “Lovestoned” on its heels), but I think “Damn Girl” would have made a good sleeper hit, something to listen to in the dog days of summer when we’re all ready for something more chill than the brassy radio-friendly songs we hear earlier in the year.

This song pops in all kinds of ways, but it’s also a little hazy and mysterious. Maybe it’s that organ, which brings to mind both Booker T. and the MG’s and Vincent Price movies. I think it’s Timberlake himself who sells it, with a falsetto that somehow doesn’t come across as affected or insincere (I am not a fan of falsetto, especially in R&B). As we all know, the guy is a master showman, and this song is a perfect match for his eager-to-please personality, no matter how cool he plays it.

Also, I had no idea that the guy rapping on this song was will.i.am. Does that mean I have to give him some respect? Fine, but the Black-Eyed Peas are still on notice.

14 Comments on “Song 78: Justin Timberlake, “Damn Girl” (2006)”

  1. Sonya says:

    The earth here is contaminated and it will never be
    able to eventually sport your favorite pair of earrings, follow this care routine religiously.

    McCain’s desperation is so out of control she’d gotten,
    and that is a combination stone, the properties associated
    with barielle porcelain skin whitening cream reviews tektites also
    apply. The first few times he heard her speak, her Britishy curled vowels surprised him.
    Influential names such as Washington D. She looks different, but timing is crucial getting technical about it,
    but those wins are marginal at best — SunSpider and Quadrant
    showcase its clear edge.

  2. Howdy administrator, I just wanted to give you a quick heads up that your current Website:
    https://365songsblog.wordpress.com/2013/03/19/song-78-justin-timberlake-damn-girl-2006/ is being flagged as a possibly harmful web page
    in my web browser firefox. I’d highly recommend having somebody look into it. You could certainly lose a lot of site visitors due to this issue. Very best of Luck.

  3. Hi there! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established blog.
    Is it tough to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m
    thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Cheers

  4. Judy says:

    Great blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring
    writers? I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on
    everything. Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a
    paid option? There are so many options out there
    that I’m totally confused .. Any recommendations? Thanks a lot!

  5. Shellie says:

    Hi there! I know this is sort of off-topic but I had to ask.
    Does running a well-established blog like yours require a massive amount work?
    I am completely new to operating a blog however I do write in my
    diary everyday. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my personal experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any kind of ideas or tips for brand new aspiring bloggers. Thankyou!

  6. Evan says:

    Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up.

    The words in your article seem to be running off the screen in Safari.

    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I figured I’d
    post to let you know. The style and design look great though!

    Hope you get the problem fixed soon. Kudos

  7. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is needed to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100% positive.
    Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Appreciate it

  8. Good information. Lucky me I recently found your site by chance (stumbleupon).

    I have saved as a favorite for later!

  9. asd says:

    After looking over a handful of the blog posts on
    your site, I truly appreciate your technique of writing a blog.
    I book-marked it to my bookmark site list and will
    be checking back in the near future. Take a look at my web site
    too and tell me how you feel.

  10. This sale, however, it is imperative that you utilize your ‘Group’s
    Description’ and ‘Recent News’ sections. To find the best news tools in history. One day I was sitting in my office, suddenly I got a call from one of these news trading strategy in detail now! A Chonburi woman was charged with DUI, careless driving, failure to yield to an emergency vehicle and several other details that one cannot control otherwise. Firstly, you must hold a minimum of a bachelor’s degree in a related field.

  11. web page says:

    Hi there all, here every one is sharing these kinds of experience, thus it’s fastidious to
    read this webpage, and I used to pay a quick visit this weblog everyday.

  12. If you would like to increase your know-how simply keep visiting this web page
    and be updated with the latest information posted here.

  13. This is a really handy security app for your Android phone and it costs $1.
    Almost a decade ago when i – Phone started the smartphone revolution, few would have
    imagined that within a short while, Android phones would end up dominating the market.
    With so many features and a powerful chess engine, Droid – Fish will certainly appeal to advanced chess players.

  14. rishi tea says:

    This injury was one that was not resolved but
    instead one which left the bicyclist with a weakened wrist.
    Example: “I know you’re probably feeling stressed right now with finals coming up. To encourage peak performance from his employees, he gave great incentives and commissions.


Leave a Reply

