Song 94: Benjamin Gibbard, “Lily” (2012)

ben

Lilly was born two years ago today. I wish I could tell you I remember everything about that day, but Lizzie and I hadn’t slept in two days, so I’m surprised I remember as much as I do. What I do remember quite vividly is, despite months of mental preparation, being absolutely shocked when a baby appeared. And this person, who moved around and had the hiccups inside another person, was suddenly ours. I’ll spare you the new dad speech; I’ll just say everything about that day continues to blow my mind.

It feels like the past two years have gone by in a flash, but it also feels like Lilly’s always been around. She already feels like an old soul, an inherently decent person. I’ve often said that if I worked as hard at anything as Lilly works at everything, I’d be President of the United States. I can’t wait to see what happens next.

Happy birthday, Lilly. (And pssst, Ben Gibbard: you’re spelling it wrong.)

Leave a Reply

