Song 104: SpongeBob SquarePants: “Best Day Ever” (2006)

bob_spongebob_squarepants_10456864_800_600_hipster_guide-s800x600-120864-580

I’m sure this will change once my toddler reaches an age when she’ll be watching irritating cartoons (not many of them, I hope), but I love SpongeBob SquarePants. I get why people don’t, but I find him hilarious. His unending optimism is so absurd, yet admirable, that I can’t help but like him.

“Best Day Ever” is a great encapsulation of SpongeBob’s general outlook. It’s also a gentle ribbing at his naiveté, from “Every flower, every grain of sand is reaching out to shake my hand” to “Those clouds don’t scare me, they can’t disguise this magic that’s happening right before my eyes.” The fact that it’s paired with Pet Sounds-era Beach Boys, itself an ironic kind of happiness, is a perfect touch.

Leave a Reply

