Song 113: Wiz Khalifa, “Roll Up” (2011)

© Meredith Truax

Oh man. I know. This song is so… something. Dumb? Corny? Both?

But it’s just got something. Those warm synths, the catchy tune, the way Wiz Khalifa says “whenever you caaaall me.” And I find it so charming, against my better nature, that he says “I’ll be there shortly.” It’s possibly the least cool hip-hop lyric I’ve ever heard, and I think he should get credit for writing it. It’s clumsy, but that’s what I like about it. It’s okay, baby. I’ll be there… shortly.

But really, it all comes back to those synths. They’re like classical piano phrases, the way they weave in and out of each other, up and down a major scale. How is it that a pretty song about friendship, love and devotion, with the lyrics “I’ll be there shortly,” came from Wiz Khalifa?

It’s a funny world.

Leave a Reply

