Song 193: I’m From Barcelona, “We’re From Barcelona” (2006)

I_m_From_Barcelona-Let_Me_Introduce_My_Friends-Frontal

When I first heard this song, I loved it instantly. I say that about a lot of songs, but in the case of “We’re From Barcelona,” it was within the first few seconds that I said to myself, “This is ridiculous and I love it.” This doesn’t happen often.

This song is so sincere, so lacking in cynicism, that it never fails to bring a smile to my face. And I love that it seems fully formed from those first few horn notes. There’s a group of 29 people from Barcelona (Sweden, actually), and they want you to join them. They’re going to sway for you, and sing a sweet song about Spain, and that’s just the way it is. Sure, Emanuel Lundgren’s mustache is a little creepy, and this all sounds a little cult-like, but look at the expressions on their faces. They love you.

“We’re From Barcelona” may be the happiest song I know. There are hundreds of songs that sound happy, but the lyrics have some darkness to them. Not this song. It’s joy from the get-go, and there’s something beautiful about that.

Leave a Reply

