Song 218: Florence and the Machine, “Shake It Out” (2011)

Florence_And_The_Machine-Shake_It_Out

How great is this song? With its giant percussion, epic vocals, and killer melody, I don’t know how anyone could dislike it. I wasn’t a fan of Florence and the Machine’s previous hit single, “Kiss With a Fist,” so I unwisely wrote them off. When I heard “Shake It Out,” I knew it was all over, and that I was a fan from here on out.

I think of this song as similar to Frightened Rabbit’s “Swim Until You Can’t See Land,” in that they share a drive, a sense of urgency about improving your own situation. They’re both about the release of removing yourself from your demons, and they both state the case so simply that it’s hard to resist the message.

I love this video, mainly because it recalls Annie Lennox’s “Walking On Broken Glass.” Florence Welch was clearly influenced by Lennox’s deep, full voice, and it’s interesting to see her band admit the influence in such a grand style.

Leave a Reply

